Jacqui Richards’s Weblog

March 27, 2008

Lost In The Post

Filed under: L — jacquirichards @ 1:54 pm

cashur09.jpg

I feel like a letter lost in the post,

In which is written,

That it’s you I love most.

But then it floats somewhere off the coast.

 

Chorus

Posted with a stamp,

But then lost somewhere in Spain,

Shall I say what I want to say again ?

And write it clearly and quite plain ?

 

Without you, I’m lost in the post,

Nowhere to go, nothing to see,

Feeling like a ghost,

Floating on a sea.

 

Chorus

 

I sent it yesterday, I was sure,

But, I hear, it didn’t make it to your door,

The mailman must have got lost, too,

Carrying my letter to hand it to you.

Chorus

 

How else can I tell you what I want to say ?

Put in another telegram,

Post it first class anyway ?

It should arrive the very next day.

Chorus

 

And if the telegram doesn’t arrive,

And you don’t get it when you get home at five …

Shall I call on the telephone ?

(Unless there is no dialing tone).

Chorus

Perhaps, instead, I should send you a note ?

Of course, it may be longest letter that I ever wrote !

I’ll stick the envelope down with a kiss …

And this time hope that it won’t go amiss.

 

© Jacqueline Richards 2008

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

