Jacqui Richards’s Weblog

March 27, 2008

Streets Ahead

Filed under: S — jacquirichards @ 9:52 pm

cashur09.jpg

I tried to catch you, but you were streets ahead,

I meant to take you out for something to eat,

But you said that you’d already been fed.

Would like to be together, but you said you’d rather be alone, instead.

You were streets ahead, when I met you at work,

I meant to discuss business, but of course, could only shirk.

I said that I’d help you carry that heavy load.

But you were streets ahead, when I met you on the road.

Chorus

Darlin’, you’re so streets ahead,

I’m still in the bathroom, when you’re in the bed.

When I’m undressing, you’re already going red.

I forget, but you remember everything we said.

 

Streets ahead when I got off the bus,

Hoping to make this single ticket one for both of us.

You were streets ahead when I needed love,

You lifted me up,

(But your love came down from above).

No wonder that I went red the first time we were in bed,

When you were so many streets ahead.

Streets ahead when we got wed,

I said I do – but you said it to me first instead.

Chorus

 

© Jacqueline Richards 2008

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

