Jacqui Richards’s Weblog

March 28, 2008

What Will The Neighbours Say ?

Filed under: W — jacquirichards @ 9:26 am

cashur09.jpg

Chorus

I would ask you to stay,

Not to go away,

To be my sweetheart forever and a day …

But what would the neighbours say ?

 

I would much prefer to switch off the light,

For you to stay all night, but we fight,

If only our worries were much more slight,

Would the neighbours say it wasn’t right ?

 

Chorus

 

I would much prefer if we were wed,

If I keep my socks on when we go to bed,

If I sleep on that side instead

But would the neighbours see red ?

Chorus

 

I would much prefer if we were free,

Not tied up in work, endlessly,

If I wore my pyjamas rather than this negligee,

Would the neighbours disagree ?

Chorus

 

I would much prefer to sing a song,

But it may take too long,

I’d prefer a whiskey, but it’s too strong,

I’d prefer even to whisper my feelings,

Than write it in a song,

But would the neighbours say it was wrong ?

Chorus

 

I would much prefer to read a book,

But the pages may become stuck,

I’d prefer to go for a meal, than to fuck,

But would the neighbours start to cluck ?

Chorus

I would much prefer to catch the early train,

That to be late again,

I’d prefer to go by aeroplane, that’s plain,

But would the neighbours complain ?

Chorus

 

I would much prefer to uproot,

To go down the chimney in a cloud of soot,

Even for you to go picking fruit,

But would it with the neighbours cause a dispute ?

Chorus

 

I would much prefer to look in your eye,

To wear my dressing gown, with no tie,

Take you on a journey, so high in the sky,

But would the neighbours say it was a lie ?

Chorus

 

© Jacqueline Richards 2008

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

