Jacqui Richards’s Weblog

April 14, 2008

A Friend Is First A Stranger, Strangely A Stranger Becomes A Friend

Filed under: A — jacquirichards @ 2:52 pm

cashur09.jpg

When we met, I was a friend in need,

Now, I find we’re friends, indeed.

Strange how we strangely became friends,

A friend is first a stranger,

Strangely a stranger becomes a friend,

That is where my song begins,

The same as at the end.

Chorus

Reach out your hand, I don’t ask for much,

Just a simple caress and a gentle touch.

A friend is first a stranger,

Then things often get stranger, as such.

Strangely this stranger became my friend,

When my heart was broken,

I gave it to him to mend.

When I fell out of fashion and favour,

We got together and started a trend.

 

Chorus

 

When all around me,

People didn’t seem to care,

You were the one who let me you were there,

It was the way that you ran your fingers through my hair,

From being a stranger,

There was strangely magic everywhere,

When we played true, kiss, command, promise or dare.

 

Chorus

 

It may seem strange, strangely, I already know,

But when things started to become strange,

We strangely stayed friends, though we didn’t let our

feelings show,

Step by step, as our friendship began to grow,

Strangely I realised how my feelings sometimes start to

flow,

You’re simply the best friend, that I know.

 

Chorus

 

Just to make friends, if I reach out my hand to you,

Maybe another million strangers will join us, too …

There won’t be any more bother, with you as my brother,

Yesterday’s enemy is tomorrow’s friend,

But to get from here to there, the dialogue shouldn’t end …

(repeat to fade)

© Jacqueline Richards 2008

Blog at WordPress.com.

