Jacqui Richards’s Weblog

May 12, 2008

Standing Next To Giants

Filed under: S — jacquirichards @ 7:49 pm

cashur09.jpg 

Sometimes, whenever I feel small,

I stand on top of moutainn be be a little more tall,

Though I risk a chance, that I may fall,

I like the sound of the echo whenever I call.

If I feel that I am slight,

I stand next to giants, to gain insight.

Though the light may be dimmed and not so bright,

In a giant’s shadow, I feel their might.

Though the giant may almost touch the sky,

I reach for clouds easily, as they pass by,

The giant may not mind, if I sit on his shoulder,

To give rest to a love – soldier, as I hold ya’.

The giant gives me a bit of his strength,

In his powers, is magic, at arm’s length,

His shadows shelter me from the Sun’s rays,

Bringing cool, to hot, hazy days.

When my troubles seem giant,

I take a bit of a giant’s might, and feel defiant,

So, over my cares, I become triumphant,

Just like a mouse, next to an elephant.

I am risen by the giant’s great height,

And feel a touch of his courage, though I may be slight,

He gives me haven from the storm,

Melts the snowflakes and keeps me warm.

Whenever I feel old and cold,

The giant reaches out his hand for me to hold,

When I lack courage, he makes me feel bold,

Happy ever after, like a fairy tale, told.

There may be a difference of about one hundred feet,

And the Earth may tremble, when the giant stomps his feet,

But, in his shake, rattle and roll, there’s a rythmic beat,

Standing next to giants, dancing to the music he creates on the street.

Standing next to giants is like being by your side,

I’m really quite tiny, compared to your arms, as they open wide,

I am like an ant, next to a giant’s stride,

But it’s a great place, to find solace and hide.

Sometimes I marvel in the shadow of a genius,

But instead of a size difference between you and me,

It just ends up as a giant “us”.

© Jacqueline Richards 2008
Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

