Jacqui Richards’s Weblog

May 15, 2008

Au Contraire

Filed under: A — jacquirichards @ 8:58 am

cashur09.jpg

You said that you loved me, but au contraire,

When I came to your house,

Couldn’t find you anywhere.

You said that you would always be mine,

But au contraire, when we got together,

Had to find somewhere to draw the line.

 

Chorus

Why do you do things that you don’t mean ?

Why do you do things so very mean ?

Don’t you realise this is the best love affair that’s ever been ?

Just that the sparkles hidden, our liaison needs a polish to sheen.

Some things are simply best left unsaid,

No wonder that things spin around in my head, make me see red.

Rather than climbing the walls, au contraire, let’s be wed and go to bed.

 

You said that you would buy me a porsche,

But au contraire, I find I’m still riding to your house on a bus, of course,

And sometimes it’s late, even worse.

You said that I’m your very best friend,

But au contraire, now I find, you want things to end,

And I’m still wondering whether just a card, of flowers I should send.

Chorus

 

You said that you’d buy me a diamond ring,

But au contraire, it’s only trouble you bring,

Honey, can’t you make something permanent out of our fling ?

You said that you’d wait, that I could take my time,

But au contraire, I’m treated like I’ve committed a crime,

All because my love poem to you doesn’t rhyme.

 

Chorus

 

You said that you’d love me forevermore,

But au contraire, now I’m left wondering what love is for ?

With a broken heart and so much more.

You said that we’d be in it together,

But au contraire, now there’s only stormy weather,

When ya’ in love, shouldn’t have a heavy heart, only one as light as a feather.

Chorus

 

You said that you’d make me feel alright,

But au contraire, now I find I’m awake half the night,

Should be doing things with passion, not out of spite.

You said that you’d love only me,

But au contraire, now I’m in a relationship with three,

Instead of the happiest marriage that there could ever be.

Chorus

 

© Jacqueline Richards 2008
Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

