Jacqui Richards’s Weblog

May 16, 2008

Hide Behind A Shield

Filed under: H — jacquirichards @ 10:07 am

cashur09.jpg

When we went walking,

Played hide and seek behind a tree,

But, honey, I guess,

I was hopeless at doing things inconspicuously.

When we went strolling along the street,

And you held my hand,

I had real trouble concealing my affections,

Feelings are so difficult to understand.

 

Chorus

It’s just so obvious,

Can’t hide it at all,

Want to tell you that I love you,

Shout it out and write it on a wall.

 

When we went playing in a park,

Really, all I wanted was to hide in the dark,

But you lit my fire, just like a spark,

And couldn’t hide my light behind a bushel,

Wanted to sing about it, just like a lark.

When we spent a week on holiday,

Was trying to get said all the things we don’t usually say,

Tried to erase the look on my face, and rub it away,

But, darlin’, my heart still beat fast, and our love lasted

longer than a day.

 

Chorus

 

When we were washing and ironing our clothes,

Was busy imagining you in absolutely nothing at all,

Brushed my hair, to get ready took an hour,

Even went out to buy you a flower.

When we were together, all afternoon,

My mind drifted off, as I tried to learn this ol’ piano tune,

Spent an hour star – watching and gazing at the Moon,

No wonder that I soon started to croon.

 

Chorus

 

When you look in the mirror, what do you see ?

I bet you’d see through me, eventually, you see,

If you gaze at the reflection of me in the glass,

Do you see a ghostly image of me, as you pass ?

Inside, my head just went “BOOM !”,

And all around, the planets I started to zoom,

Throughout all of this, I thought of you,

Floating around the universe, as around Jupiter, I quickly

flew.

 

Chorus

You can try to hide behind a shield,

Even run away across a field,

But, it’ll be hopeless, the love I have for you, cannot be

concealed,

I’m so thoroughly in love with you,

Yet, all you do is tell me that we’re through. (repeat to

fade)

© Jacqueline Richards 2008
Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

