Jacqui Richards’s Weblog

June 15, 2008

Couldn’t Catch You In

Filed under: C — jacquirichards @ 12:07 pm

 cashur09.jpg

Couldn’t catch you in a fishing net,

Tried to keep you in a cage, like a pet,

Darling, I long to make you mine,

Knocked at you door,

Hung on your washing line.

But I couldn’t catch you in.

 

Couldn’t catch you in a cobweb on the wall,

When I loooked, nothing was there at all,

Darling, I long to make you mine,

Knocked at you door,

Hung on your washing line.

But I couldn’t catch you in.

 

Couldn’t catch you in a pan,

Though I’m still trying as hard as I can,

Darling, I long to make you mine,

Knocked at you door,

Hung on your washing line.

But I couldn’t catch you in.

 

Couldn’t catch you in my arms,

Though I’m still chasing you all over ten farms,

Darling, I long to make you mine,

Knocked at you door,

Hung on your washing line.

But I couldn’t catch you in.

 

Couldn’t catch you in a coat,

Just like a butterfly, off you did float,

Darling, I long to make you mine,

Knocked at you door,

Hung on your washing line.

But I couldn’t catch you in.

 

Couldn’t catch you in a box,

Ours is the kinda love that unlocks,

Darling, I long to make you mine,

Knocked at you door,

Hung on your washing line.

But I couldn’t catch you in.

 

Couldn’t catch you in my hand,

You’re a buzzing bee that doesn’t land,

Darling, I long to make you mine,

Knocked at you door,

Hung on your washing line.

But I couldn’t catch you in.

Couldn’t catch ya’ in a paper bag,

It popped and burst, now I use it as a flag,

Darling, I long to make you mine,

Knocked at you door,

Hung on your washing line.

But I couldn’t catch you in.

 

Couldn’t catch you in a hot air balloon,

It was too light and flew right over the Moon.

Darling, I long to make you mine,

Knocked at you door,

Hung on your washing line.

But I couldn’t catch you in.

 

Couldn’t catch you in a picture or a photograph,

Ya’ radiance is even greater when ya’ laugh.

Darling, I long to make you mine,

Knocked at you door,

Hung on your washing line.

But I couldn’t catch you in.

© Jacqueline Richards 2008
Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

